The crucial producer behind YG Entertainment’s distinct sound worked on every song on Blackpink’s new record.

Image source – YG Entertainment

On June 5, YG Entertainment posted the tracklist for girl group Blackpink’s highly anticipated mini-album Square Up. In the new album, the group hopes to showcase an evolution of their musical style since their first record.

Teddy, who has worked with the girl group since their debut, has also worked on Square Up. In the upcoming album, the producer has worked to completely expand the musical world of the group. The album’s four songs, “Forever Young,” “Really,” “See You Later,” and title track “Ddu-Du Ddu-Du,” has raised questions about what kind of genre the songs might have and their content.

In particular, the title track “Ddu-Du Ddu-Du” is reminiscent of an onomatopoeic word is even more curious. Moreover, compared to the other songs the “Ddu-Du Ddu-Du” will probably most represent the album’s tough girl concept.

Meanwhile, Blackpink’s new album will come out on June 15.



Original article

Translated by O.C